The Orchestra: A User's Manual was conceived and written by Andrew Hugill in 2002-4 during a sabbatical period from De Montfort University. The project was commissioned by the Philharmonia Orchestra with funds made available by the Arts Council of England. Many people from both De Montfort University and the Philharmonia contributed to the creation of the manual, as follows:

Sound Recording: Philip English
Education and Community, Philharmonia: Beverley Fell
Project Adviser: Olivia Lowson
Web Development: Myles Jackson
Fixers: Miranda Cook, Charlotte McDonald, Jill Batcheler, Julie Barton
Technical Support: Martin Sheil
Recording Assistants: Scott Everett, Javier Goyes
Audio Encoding: Christopher Hill
Archive and Database: Martyn Jones
Librarian: David Munden
Piccolo: Keith Bragg
Flute: Kenneth Smith
Oboe: Christopher Cowie
Cor Anglais: Huw Clement-Evans
Clarinet: Mark van de Wiel
Bass Clarinet: Michael Harris
Bassoon: Meyrick Alexander
Contrabassoon: Nicholas Reader
Saxophones: David Roach
Horn: Nigel Black
Trumpets: Alistair Mackie
Trombones: Byron Fulcher
Tubas: John Jenkins
Percussion: David Corkhill, Kevin Hathway
Harp: Miriam Keogh
Fretted Strings: Forbes Henderson
Violin: Miranda Dale
Viola: Michael Turner
Cello: Rhydian Shaxson
Double Bass: Corin Long

Andrew Hugill would also like to thank the following for their support and assistance:
Mr. David Whelton (Managing Director, Philharmonia Orchestra)
Professor Judy Simons (Pro-Vice Chancellor, De Montfort University)
Professor Tim O'Sullivan (Head of School of Media and Cultural Production, Faculty of Humanities, De Montfort University)
Members of the Music, Technology and Innovation Research Centre of De Montfort University
Mr. Jim Popple, Finance Manager, De Montfort University
Mrs. Louise Hugill